Let’s Rock!!!

Okay, I need to wake up this morning and get some stuff done.  I need motivational music.

Here are the 5 songs that have gotten me through a tough week of working doubles with a cold–and that includes teaching Middle School Monsters!

I have always liked the Strokes.  Since the now classic Is This It? from 2001, I have been a casual, but engaged fan, of theirs.  However, since I put their albums on my son’s iPod a few months ago, he has instilled a deep enthusiasm for their music in me.

I have explained before that I love to hear him play certain songs on his bass guitar.  One of the great pleasures in my life!  And these songs are all songs that have become personal favorites because of my son’s enthusiasm!

We have spent most of our free time in the past few weeks learning both the guitar and bass parts for these songs (and many others, as well), and I have recently decided that these five songs will be a part of my life forever.

So, here we go!  Enjoy.

Let’s Rock!!!

Hard to Explain

Reptilia

Juicebox

Heart in a Cage

and finally, the song I cannot get enough of…

Machu Picchu

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Let’s Rock!!!

  1. Angel Pagan

    Such beautiful songs. “Hard to Explain” is a favorite of mine too. My all-time off the first record has always been “Someday” – “And now my fears, they come to me in threes…”, what a line. It got me thinking about the power of single lines, whether in songs, poetry, novels. In a way, it’s demented to pluck a line out of context and hold it dear. At least in the case of lyric, if we are to believe a poem is an organism, it’s like singling out for admiration a particular petal on a flower and then plucking it. For expository or argumentative writing too, it robs the line of the meaning that the context provides. Still, it seems people have the tendency to do this, to find/create meaning in single lines and hold them up as representative of some universal truth or stand-alone emotional reality. Do you think most writers consider the resonance of certain lines they produce divorced from their context?

    • I’m not sure if writers know which lines will be bastardized in advance. I’m sure that some will get uppity about it, but others–probably most–will simply let it slide. Especially with lyrics. Most lyricists that I have seen/read interviewed claim to not want to assign meaning to a lot of their lyrics for just that reason. Robert Hunter, for one, never wanted to take anything away from the listener by explaining his reason for the lyric.
      I do wonder if novelists/essayists do the same.

      • Angel Pagan

        Probably depends a lot on who it is, and how far they’d stand behind their lyrics. I’d imagine with some, an aversion to assigning meaning just stems from an awareness that they didn’t put much into their writing (e.g. if someone finds meaning, I’m not gonna admit I barely tried.)
        With someone like Hunter, it’s completely different. I think he wouldn’t want to explain lyrics because he knows that, like a poem, they don’t have any meaning. They just are, like the flower. People don’t ask what a flower means, they just admire its beauty, each in his/her own way. Some have the tendency to pluck petals. I’d venture to say that Hunter’s someone who’s aware of this tendency since seems aware of the quotability of single lines. So many of them are just very self-contained, like verse from the Bible, which no doubt was a huge source of inspiration for his writing. Maybe not to the degree of Dylan though, for whom “Deuteronomy and Leviticus were [his] only teachers.”

        p.s. I tried to hit one out of Wrigley for you today but I’m not sure if I did.

Leave a Reply

