Prog Rock Sunday – Yes (plus a bonus video)

Good Morning and Happy Sunday!

Today’s Prog Rock Sunday features one of my oldest and favorite bands ever–not mention Prog Rock bands–Yes.  This morning, I chose the somewhat mainstream, Long Distance Runaround/The Fish (Shindleria Praematurus).  I could have gone with so many other songs than that pairing, but many of those others would have been one of Yes’ longer epics; such as Close to the Edge, Sound Chaser, or Ritual, and I figured that no one would sit through such longs pieces willingly on a Sunday (and I don’t blame you).

Also, Liam has been playing Long Distance Runaround on the bass quite a lot lately, so it has been stuck in my head.

You see, when I was a wee laddie, I taught myself how to play the bass guitar by trying to mimic Chris Squire (and Geezer Butler, John Paul Jones, and Phil Lesh).  Squire is a madman on the bass, and a phenomenal musician all-around, and I learned to attack the bass like he did, rather than simply play the bass.

Long Distance Runaround is one of the songs that I always wanted to learn, but I always thought that it was too difficult, and so I never tried.  Until recently, that is.  Liam sort of challenged me to learn it, and it was so much easier than I had anticipated.  I am a bit embarrassed that I never tried before.  I mean, I spent so much of my early bass-playing days trying to mimic Squire’s bass solo from The Fish off the live album, “Yessongs”, but I felt intimidated by Long Distance Runaround.  Ahhh, youth.  We can be so silly sometimes.

Anyway, here it is.  I hope you enjoy it, and I hope you all have a fantastic day!

Oh, and as a bonus, here is Liam kicking ass on the bass part for Long Distance Runaround!

4 Comments

Filed under Prog Rock Sundays

4 responses to “Prog Rock Sunday – Yes (plus a bonus video)

  1. The only Yes song I know is, of course, “Owner of a Lonely Heart” but this I will check out.

Leave a Reply

