Wednesday Morning Earworm – The Strokes, and The Flaming Lips

Today is “Twofer Wednesday!”  Okay, I know that doesn’t make much sense, but so what?  My son and I are all a’buzz about the new album by The Strokes, “Comedown Machine”, due on March 26th, and the new album by The Flaming Lips, “The Terror”, due on April 1st.

Our first treat today comes from The Strokes’ third album, “First Impressions of Earth”, and the song is Juicebox.  Released in 2006, this song is a typically upbeat Strokes song, driven by heavy bass guitar, and Julian Casablancas’ distorted vocals.  It is one of my son Liam’s favorite songs to play on bass.

Our second treat today comes from The Flaming Lips’ tenth full-length album, “Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots”, and the song is my all-time favorite Flaming Lips song, Fight Test. Released in 2001, the entire album is a masterpiece, and probably my favorite from their vast catalog.   If you are not familiar with The Flaming Lips, please stop what you are doing and hear this song.  Then, go get this album, and the preceding album, “Soft Bulletin.”  You will thank me later!

Happy Wednesday!

3 Comments

Filed under Wednesday Earworm

3 responses to “Wednesday Morning Earworm – The Strokes, and The Flaming Lips

  1. Really looking forward to ‘The Terror’. I was really disappointed with the last Strokes album ‘Angles’, but I’ll still give the new one a shot. Room On Fire is still a favorite of mine.

    • I can’t say that I was disappointed by “Angles”, but I would say it is the worst of the bunch. Really looking forward to the new one.
      As for The Lips, “The Terror” sounds like it is going to be great.
      We’ve already heard the first singles for both albums, and we are excited!

      • I haven’t heard anything off the new Lips record, other than the track from
        the car commercial. I believe that’s just a bonus track.

        My wife and I saw the FL two years ago in Chicago. They played The Soft Bulletin in its entirety. That was amazing.

        The tracksvive heard off the new Strokes record are promising.

Leave a Reply

