Prog Rock Sunday

I have decided that since many people are out enjoying their weekend instead of reading blogs all day that I would start a new segment for Sundays with a theme.  Since my readership is at a weekly low on Sundays, I thought that I would not post any of my hard work, and instead, post a song.  Not just any song, but a song from one of my all-time favorite genres: Progressive Rock.

I seems to fit, in my mind, to have rock music with such a deep classical bent attached on Sundays.  I was raised Catholic, and Sunday is our Sabbath, but since music is my religion these days (always has been, actually), I choose to use this sacred day to play the holiest of music.

Besides, I am working all day, and I won’t be checking my blog every 5 minutes.

Today’s song is one of my all-time favorite pieces of music–Firth of Fifth, by Genesis.  Long, long ago, before Genesis became Phil Collins’ backing band, and they focused on gimmicks and cheap pop ballads to get airplay on MTV, they were a weird Progressive Rock band.  Back then, Phil Collins was just a drummer, and Peter Gabriel was a really strange dude fronting the band.  They created brilliant music with heavy classical influences, led by Tony Banks’ virtuoso keyboards, and created a uniquely “English” sound that harkens back to the Edwardian era.

Firth of Fifth has several sections, beginning with a beautiful piano intro that leads into a powerful rock and roll section before going back into the required progressive rock elements of a flute solo, followed by a keyboard solo, followed by a guitar solo that brings the original themes together.  Later in their career, they would continue to play the middle solo sections as part of some medley during their live shows.

Liam and I–neither of whom is classically trained on piano–have been attempting to play the piano intro for a few months now.  We are making progress, but still so far to go.

So, here you go.  I hope you enjoy!

Happy Sunday!

13 Comments

Filed under Prog Rock Sundays

13 responses to “Prog Rock Sunday

  1. A great idea for Sundays. I myself don’t have any blogging plans for Sundays and it’s true that the audience is very low then. I myself am enjoying the weekend so I don’t mind ^^

  2. Might have to put on ‘The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway’ now.

  3. Thanks for introducing me to this song!

    Lily

Leave a Reply

