Wednesday Morning Earworm – “Happiness” by Elliott Smith

All I used to be will pass away, and then you’ll see

That all I want now is happiness for you and me

One of my personal favorites of about 30 Elliott Smith songs that I could call favorite.  This is such a beautiful song, and it gets stuck in my head quite often.

The lyrics are typically vague, but I always felt that this song is a straightforward narrative about one lover telling their former lover that whatever the reasons for their failings, he just wants peace and happiness.

This song was released about a year before my former-wife and I split up, and I used to listen to it a lot after the fact.  I still always think of her when I hear it.  Not out of nostalgia, or anything, but just because we had changed, and we had to deal with it.  I think that is what the song is about.  The lines…

Oh my, nothing else could have been done

He/she made his/her life a lie so

He/she might never have to know anyone

He/she made his/her life a lie, you know…

…perfectly describes the way our marriage fell apart, and the way we tried to hide from it before finally facing it.

Even though we are more than a decade beyond it all, I still just want to tell her that I just want us to be happy–wherever that leads us.  Probably just the song pulling on the old heartstrings, but you get it.  We share a son that we both adore, so we will never be too far from the other.

By-the-way, it’s been like 13 years since I first heard this song, and I still cannot do that impossible finger-picking that Elliott does.

Anyway, I know that I have posted a lot of music stuff lately, but I will get back to some serious writing very soon.  Life has gotten very busy for me lately, and Sundays through Tuesdays are my busiest days.

Happy Wednesday, Everybody!

joel

4 Comments

Filed under Wednesday Earworm

4 responses to “Wednesday Morning Earworm – “Happiness” by Elliott Smith

  1. Great song and great album.

  2. I’ve been away on vacation and come back to more of your awesome posts as always. Great song, thanks for posting 🙂

  3. Pingback: Wednesday Morning Earworm – “Independence Day”, by Elliott Smith | It's a Blog About Nothing

Leave a Reply

