Why Gotye is My Mortal Enemy

I know that hatred is a wasted emotion; it does nothing to serve me, and it can be both physically and emotionally toxic.  However, just as Richard Nixon had his enemies list, so, too, do I have a few people that I will never forgive.  For example, Dwight Clark robbed the Dallas Cowboys of the NFC Championship in 1982 with “The Catch”, and it took the ‘Boys ten years to recover.  Will Clark hit a grand slam against the Cubs in the NCLS in 1989, which pretty much ended the Cubs’ great season right then and there.  Finally, Glenn Ballard created Alanis Morrisette, made Aerosmith a joke, and stripped away everything unique about the Dave Matthews Band and turned them into every other band on mainstream radio.  These things are unforgivable.

I used to have Dick Cheney on this list, but since he is a demon, and sucks the souls of the innocent, he cannot be held to any human standards.

However, I have a new enemy, and the fact that he is the darling of the music world now because of his treachery makes him the worst of all.  I am referring to Gotye.

The face of evil!

The face of evil!

I know I should love him because he is Belgian, but no, he committed the most heinous crime of all:  He ripped-off Elliott Smith.

The face of a saint!

The face of a saint!

Long before that techno-wannabe-poser got famous for the song, “Somebody That I Used to Know”, Elliott Smith recorded his own song of the same name.  Gotye copied Elliott Smith in title only, but it was a unique title and response.

When Elliott Smith recorded his original version of “Somebody That I Used to Know”, it was an original sentiment.  It was clever, and the perfect burn on an ex.

            I had tender feelings that you made hard

            But it’s your heart, not mine, that’s scarred

            So, when I go home I’ll be happy to go

            You’re just somebody that I used to know

 

            You don’t need my help anymore

            It’s all now to you, there ain’t no before

            Now that you’re big enough to run your own show

            You’re just somebody that I used to know

 

Elliott pours his heart into the lyrics, all while trying to pass off nonchalance.  He acts as if he does not care, but he clearly does.  His internal pain is evident, even if he tries to shrug her (?) off.

 

Compare that eloquence to Gotye’s boring sentiment.

            But you didn’t have to cut me off

            Make out like it never happened at that we were nothing

            And I don’t even need your love

            But you treat me like a stranger and that feels so rough

            No, you didn’t have to stoop so low

            Have your friends collect your records and then change your number

            I guess that I don’t need that, though

            Now, you’re just somebody that I used to know

Those look like lyrics an 8-year old might have written.

As if that is not enough for me to spew my contempt and spite toward Gotye, he stole the title of another Elliott Smith song, from the same damned album!  Is he intentionally stealing material from Elliott’s album, Figure 8? Makes me wonder who else he is ripping off.

The other song that I refer to is Easy Way Out, and it is another beautifully crafted song by Elliott.   Gotye’s song is, of course, a cheap piece of crap.

There can be no forgiveness.

I know that Goatse will be hurt by my words here, but he needs to learn that cheaters never prosper, unless you consider winning Record of the Year, Best Pop Duo/Group Performance, and Best Alternative Music Album at the Grammy’s prospering, then he totally can.

One last thing, “Best Alternative Album”?  Alternative?  Really?

Fuck you, Grammy’s!

1 Comment

Filed under Music Reviews

One response to “Why Gotye is My Mortal Enemy

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Morning Earworm – “Independence Day”, by Elliott Smith | It's a Blog About Nothing

Leave a Reply

