Books I Want to Read in 2013

I was once a voracious reader.  I loved nothing more than to completely lose myself in a good novel, or even better, a good series of novels.  I would get so into the books that I would fall into that brief depression that all serious readers feel once the book or series ends.  I have read almost every single Stephen King book at least once, as well as all of Sharon Kay Penman’s fantastic novels, and of course, John Steinbeck and Charles Dickens.

However, I have also been going to school these past 12 years, earning a BA in History, a Teaching Credential, the majority of an MA is International Relations (all but Thesis), and about half of an MA in Teaching (I know, I have commitment issues).  During this time, I could only read during semester breaks and the summer.  Once I started my student teaching for my credential, I had no time at all to read anything except students’ work. All the reading I had to do for grad school sort of ruined me for ever wanting to read for fun again.

I have lately found myself going numb in front of the television, or worse yet, wasting away on my Smartphone—hangovers from my student teaching days last year and horrible habits that I want to finally nail away in a coffin, and bury forever.

Whoa, that was heavy!

Anyway, the whole reason that I am here in the Blogosphere is that I want to see if I can become a writer.  I have talked about this in my first entry from last week, and I have been practicing the art of writing consistently every single day since.  I blog a little here, and I work on my novel there, and I just try to find a voice and get comfortable with the process.

Yesterday, I lamented that I have not been writing any dialogue, and I think part of the reason for that is because I have not been reading anything, or at least I have not read anything with dialogue from developed characters.  I do not want to go so far as to make a New Years Resolution or anything (that’s really not my bag), but I do want to get myself back into some serious reading.

I am repeating myself here, but one of my favorite quotes on writing comes from Stephen King’s book, On Writing.  He says, “If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”  I guess that means that I need to start reading again.

In the same book, he also says, “The road to Hell is paved with adverbs”, which is seriously something that I really do very, very often, so I guess that I have my work cut out for me.

About a year or two ago, I stole a bunch of books from my parents that have been collecting dust on my shelves, and I think that it is high time that I get busy with them.  Many of the following books that I plan to read this year includes those that I already have in my possession, while others will need to be procured somehow.

Books I Want to Read in 2013

Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister – Gregory Maguire (currently reading)

Son of a Witch – Gregory Maguire

A Lion Among Men – Gregory Maguire

Out of Oz – Gregory Maguire

Mirror, Mirror – Gregory Maguire

Lionheart – Sharon Kay Penman

Under the Dome – Stephen King

11/22/63 – Stephen King

The Dark Tower: The Wind Through the Keyhole – Stephen King (and maybe I’ll just re-read the series again, anyway)

1356 – Bernard Cornwell

The Burning Land – Bernard Cornwell

The Death of Kings – Bernard Cornwell

Stonehenge – Bernard Cornwell

The Kings of Winter – Cecilia Holland

Lords of Sunset – Parke Godwin

The Poisonwood Bible – Barbara Kingsolver

Pigs in Heaven – Barbara Kingsolver

The Lacuna – Barbara Kingsolver

Fallen Skies – Philippa Gregory (of which I am very skeptical since I hated The Other Queen)

Life – Keith Richards

Grumpy Old Rock Stars – Rick Wakeman

Stone Alone – Bill Wyman

The Dirt – Motley Crue

Walk This Way – Aerosmith

Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock – Sammy Hagar

…and other various Rock-n-Roll biographies for research for my own book.

That is a good start, I think.  I would like to go back and re-read a few books like Bernard Cornwell’s Saxon Stories Series, The Grail Quest Series, and the Warlord Chronicles (all trilogies).  I would also like to re-read Sharon Kay Penman’s Welsh Trilogy (Here Be Dragons, Falls the Shadow, and The Reckoning, which I read in backwards order the first time).  In addition, perhaps I will revisit Helen Hollick’s wonderful Harold the King and A Hollow Crown.

I do not know if any of these will make me a better writer, but I would like to find myself lost in a good novel once again.

Any suggestions?

 

5 Comments

Filed under Deep Thoughts, man...

5 responses to “Books I Want to Read in 2013

  1. Best of luck with the writing and I hope you enjoy this crazy blogging world! 😀

  2. This list looks like a cool, unique blend. Not sure if this is your thing or not, but I read “The Buddha in the Attic” by Julie Otsuka the other day. It was fantastic.
    –JW

  3. Pingback: What the Hell Happened? | It's a Blog About Nothing

Leave a Reply

