Writing Dialogue

So, I’ve mentioned before that I want to write a novel based on ideas that have been kicking around in my head for years, but that I am new to writing prose.  Well, I am facing a real struggle here lately in that I just noticed that I am not writing any dialogue.  I haven’t posted any samples of my novel here on WordPress yet, but I have been spending a lot of time on the novel in between blog entries.

My background is in History and Political Science, but I have no real interest in writing anything on those subjects.  But since I have done a lot of academic writing, I never developed the necessary skills to add dialogue in my stories.  I feel like a reporter simply telling a story from the third person without allowing the first or second persons to speak.  That seems to work for me in Bloglandia, but it is not serving my novel well at all.

I certainly am not giving up, but I thought it might help to record my progress here so that I can look back and see the process involved in writing the world’s greatest novel EVER!

But I can’t help but feel as though I might be a bit out of my element.

So, I will do some research, and study the methods necessary to add dialogue to my tale.  I will practice and practice, and the first attempts will suck (of course), but I am certain that I will prevail, and that I will write an interesting story that many people will love.

Publishers, start your engines!

2 Comments

Filed under Reblogs

2 responses to “Writing Dialogue

  1. Good luck with learning dialogue. Practice is the best way to do it. That, and listening to what people say, how they say it, and what they do not say.
    –JW

  2. Pingback: Books I Want to Read in 2013 | It's a Blog About Nothing

Leave a Reply

