New Years Eve, and All Its Trappings

I had a lovely New Years Eve.  Did you?  I hadn’t planned to, actually.  I have recently decided to become a writer, and so I spent almost the entire day writing and reading other people’s blogs.  There was a hint of a party going down at a friend’s house, but that gradually faded into a good idea that wasn’t going to happen.  Some of my friends were at the Furthur concert in San Francisco, while my attention was also shifting over to New York City, where Phish was having their annual New Years gala.  I chose to stay home.  Broke and unable to pay rent on January 1st, that seemed like the best thing for me to do, regardless of the invites to certain debauchery.  Besides, my son was at his mom’s house this year, so I felt even less like celebrating the holiday than ever.

I was feeling a bit low over this whole holiday season, so I decided to write an essay on depression.  I found myself in front of the computer for most of the day writing and editing and reading and writing and editing some more.  When I had finished writing and editing the depression essay, I worked on the outline for the novel that I would like to write.  Then, I wrote down some new blog ideas.

By 6:30–and I must say that I had no clue what time it was–I got a quick text from a friend asking what I was doing.  Next thing I knew, I was invited to a very small gathering at her house, and I jumped at the chance.  Turns out, I really didn’t want to be home alone in front of the computer after all.  I went to Tracy’s house and ate good cheese, had a couple cocktails, watched some hilarious British comedy, and toasted the New Years with a nice Champagne.

I always feel that New Years Eve is a lot like Christmas, in that we lose sight of the important things in life by way of worshiping some abstract deity, like presents under the tree, or a ton of alcohol in a rowdy nightclub.  For me, New Years Eve is about comfort and conversation.  It’s about friends knowing that they have friends around when they are needed.  It’s about starting a new year with a smile on your face, a string of laughter, and something to talk about in the year to come.

Tracy and I talked about a lot of things, but of course, the conversation always came back to our amazing kids.  Her daughter and my son have gone to school together since they were in First Grade, and have become very close friends in the last three years or so.  They are in Seventh Grade now, and at an age where awkwardness is the norm.  Yet, they are truly amazing kids, and we marvel at how comfortable they are around each other.  Brilliant and beautiful, Tracy and I jokingly agreed that they must get married later in life.  At the very least, we are very happy that they are friends.

This morning, I read a blog entry by bottledworder, in which she described the “everyday stuff” going on around her on New Years Eve being more significant to her than the usual trappings associated with the big night.  I think I can relate.  Tracy apologized for the night not being “rambunctious’, but I truly appreciated the conversations and laughter we shared over any night of drinking and dancing at a noisy nightclub.

Bottledworder describes lives as often consisting of a ‘collection of momentous memories”, but I always tell my son to remember every single thing in his life because every single second of it matters.  Not just the big stuff, but everything!  I know that was Bottledworder’s point, and one that I hope to remember to live by in the years to come.

2 Comments

Filed under Deep Thoughts, man...

2 responses to “New Years Eve, and All Its Trappings

  1. Auntie C

    As you grow older, you realize that it is the simple things in your life that are the most important. Peace and quiet are far more appealing than noise and exuberance.
    I am enjoying your blog.

Leave a Reply

