Okay, here goes…

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, but I’ve never really written anything outside of academia and songwriting.  I have a B.A. in History, and I have nearly finished a M.A. in International Relations.  There is a lot of writing involved in those two fields, but it’s not the kind of writing that I would like to do.  I have written songs since I started playing guitar at age 5, so I know that I have the creative spark necessary for prose writing, but I just have never sat down and written anything prose-worthy.

I have a complete novel in my head, and I just need to write it out.  I have outlined it, and even wrote the introduction to the story.  I’d like to even write a screenplay version of this story.  I have lots of ideas, but no experience in writing stories.  The novel I want to write might suck, just like all my little ideas might suck as well, but I’ll never know if I don’t write them out, right?

So, I decided to start with a blog.  I figure that I can get all the necessary practice by doing this, and then I can see if I actually have what it takes.

I will write about any of the random thoughts that come to me.  I love music, so I can guarantee that there will be many articles on various musical topics.  I love the Grateful Dead, and I will most definitely write about my own experiences as a Deadhead, the concerts I’ve seen, and the music that I love and have collected over the years.

And I will probably just write for the sake of practice, so that I will see what is interesting and what is crap.  I have no idea how often my entries will occur, but as Stephen King once wrote, “If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”  I read plenty, and now I must try to write just as often.

Wheeeeeeeeeee!

Image

7 Comments

Filed under Deep Thoughts, man...

7 responses to “Okay, here goes…

  1. Write on! It is the first word that is always the hardest, or was it the third? Good for you Joel keep on keeping on!

  2. Well…at least I have company!

  3. Have fun with your blog. I started a blog a bit ago in order to gain more writing practice and it definitely does help.
    –JW

  4. Pingback: Books I Want to Read in 2013 | It's a Blog About Nothing

  5. Thanks for following thefirstgates. I’m a Deadhead too! I’ve come to see blogging as my own little personal writing place where I can try things out and enjoy myself – it looks like you’re off to a good start.

  6. Great idea to start a blog to get your book in motion! Thanks for stopping by mine!

Leave a Reply

